ATO Recommendation

GP125

I'm fairly new to the hobby and very new to this forum. I would like any input on an ATO for my 28 gal AIO tank. Has anyone had any experience with Auqa Gadget HydroFill ATO Controller System by Innovative Marine?

Cub21rak

Hi garey. I'm not sure about that particular one but there are a few options out there. If you have a controler it can be run through that like a reef keeper has a float switch system.
Then hydor has come out with an ato and so did coralvue. I've seen them both in action and they are neat setups. They use sensors rather then floats so no need to worry about salt creep.

SkullV

I'm very very happy with my Hydor Smart Level. It always keeps the level dead on between the two posts (min and max) and the alarm works great as well. The only issue is the need to turn it off when I shut off the return pump since the water level in the return chamber rises and will trigger the alarm. Not difficult though with a nice large toggle switch right on the top of the unit.

Full disclosure, the first one I got was defective and would sound the alarm during calibration. It worked fine, but was just noisy for 10 min or so whenever it was turned on. Ken's Fish sent me a replacement and it works flawlessly.

Sawdonkey

Premium member
I'm in the market too. I'm going to go with the AutoAqua Auto ATO. I know it is unproven, but I like the simplicity of it and I've read that people seem to like it.

I'm sick of filling up my 6 gallon topoff tank every other day. I'm going to get at least a 20 gal container and the ATO linked above. Then I can mix up my Kalk stew about once a week instead of every other day.

Swttgirl