Funlad3's 24G JBJ Nano

Funlad3

Hi all! For those of you who don't know me, I've been reefing for eight years or so, and I've worked in industry on and off for the last few years. I haven't had a display running for four years, and I'm finally going to set up a used LED 24 gallon JBJ NanoCube that I picked up at a friend's store a few months ago. I'm a big SPS lover, so naturally, I'm going to make a few modifications to the tank.

I'm going to go for high flow, so I'm going to run a sump with a way-too-large return pump. I don't want any powerheads or equipment in the tank itself, so I'm going to aim for at least 1000 GPH on the return line so that I can have at least 45-50 times turnover per hour.

The stock LEDs should be strong enough for how short the tank is, but I also have plenty of old lights laying around, so I may try to swap some of the diodes out for tons of 3W Cree LEDs.

Anyways, here's what I've done so far:

The overflow box and back chambers needed to come out:

After I tore them out, I drilled two holes for the sump and better filtration:

Two 1" bulkheads installed and fitting perfectly:

I have the stand marked up and I'm ready to cut this Red Sea Reefer stand down to size:

I have other equipment laying around. Heaters, ATO, and an overrated skimmer are all taken care of. I'm collecting and putting aside plating, encrusting, bouldering, and thick branching SPS for this tank. Until then, it's time to break out the circular saw and cut the stand.

- Ben

Funlad3

What are you going to use for a sump?
I'm going to build a custom sump out of 1/4" glass. The Red Sea stand has a vinyl padded interior, so I shouldn't have to worry about it cracking from uneven stress. I'm going to build it tall and wide to try to add as much water volume as possible. :)

conchman

Premium member