10 gallon nano..?

Ad900

so lately i have been in the market for a nano setup with most or all of the stuff needed for a saltwater aqaurium.
ive never done saltwater before and i was told extremely small nano aquariums can be very difficult to maintain,

i finally found a good deal on a 10 gallon setup that basically includes everything, even LR and sand.

my question is, just how difficult would a tank this size be to maintain?
could a complete newbie at saltwater be successful with a 10 gallon or should i continue looking for something a little bigger?

Thanks!

tklassman

Being a newbie at this hobby, I can tell you it can be done...but its a lot of work. I have a 10 gallon with a few coral and a fish and they are happy, its just be prepared to be working on the tank a lot. Evaporation occurs so quickly and you need to be ready to top it off (an auto top off is recommended). I also have a 30 gallon tank (but no corals in that one) and that is ALOT less maintenance. If you are doing a 10 gallon, I just recommend testing very frequently and always have pre-mixed saltwater because you will be doing many water changes. Good luck!

Smitty

Premium member
A tank that small is do-able...you just have to be anal about water changes(which wouldn't be much in that size tank). Larger bodies of water are just more forgivable and harder to pollute, vs smaller volumes of water. But, I actually like smaller footprint tanks because they're easier to fill with corals and less maintenance.

Weekly water changes and take your time. I do 40g water changes weekly and I don't think its a lot of work lol. Not to stear you away from here but there is a lot of info on nanoreef.com for small tanks.

My 5g pico is the easiest tank I have ever owned. I have never tested any thing and when things look out of whack I do a 80% water change.

m.miller1547