educate me on CALK through ATO

superchargedgp

educate me on KALK through ATO

I'm thinking about dossing kalk through ATO instead of your typical 2 part.
is there build up of calcium like I have experienced with BRS 2 part?
how do I mix it, and how much?

sk8elenex92

Premium member
I have been using Kalk now for 2 years and so far its been working great to keep my parameters stable and PH up. I do not dose it through my ATO though. I use aqua lifter pump and my reef keeper to dose it every hour for 30 seconds. I use two teaspoons per a gallon. That is the most you can use to have pure saturated kalk water, the rest would just collect at the bottom. I have 5 containers that I switch out. I mix them and use them the next day. Just go to walmart and pick up pickling lime.

Sawdonkey

Premium member
I dose kalk though ATO. It's easy, but not super stable. Your evaporation rate changes throughout the year and your coral uptake changes to. I just test alk before I mix up 25 gallons of kalk solution and adjust accordingly.

I use BRS kalk because it's way cheaper than even Mrs. Wages. A whole gallon is like $11.

Sawdonkey

Premium member
I never use the very last of it because it doesn't all dissolve. I just mix up more in the same ATO container without without rinsing it. I clean it about every six months or so. Super easy

Irsug1

Premium member
Dose if you can, instead of using your ato. I had the whole bucket go in at once because my drain was clogged. Lost a lot of coral.

skyon888