Help with Melanurus Wrasse

Ever since I lost my six line wrasse I've been looking into other wrasses. I want a Melanurus (hoevens). In the pics below you can clearly see a difference in the two, and they are both considered Melanurus (per Google) What is the difference if any? I see these two variations in all my searches. Is one male or female? Or a different species all together?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mooney190

looks male 's female to me....I'm not a wrass expert, but in my opinion, they are too similar to be different species, must just be different sex

Reefwise

Premium Sponsor
Ever since I lost my six line wrasse I've been looking into other wrasses. I want a Melanurus (hoevens). In the pics below you can clearly see a difference in the two, and they are both considered Melanurus (per Google) What is the difference if any? I see these two variations in all my searches. Is one male or female? Or a different species all together?

The top picture is a "super male" and the bottom picture is male.

Wrasse have more than just male and female colorations. We typically grade our wrasses into four groups: female/juvi, male, dominant male, super male.

tinman

i got mine from Aquapros and it looks like the first pic .. sold to me as Pinstripe melanarus Wrasse .. it did look pale like the second pic for the first few days but when it perked up ..wow its an amazing fish :)

Reefwise

Premium Sponsor
I did learn something today!!!

Yes, wrasse coloration is interesting. The biggest difference is when the melanarus get 4+ inches they loose the pinstripes and look like the top pictures.

#theMatrix

Does the supermale coloration change if theres no female pressent? Is this for all super males? Like rhomboids...pintails etc etc?
[MENTION=764]Reefwise[/MENTION]

Reefwise

Premium Sponsor
Does the supermale coloration change if theres no female pressent? Is this for all super males? Like rhomboids...pintails etc etc?
[MENTION=764]Reefwise[/MENTION]