Is my tank cycled

Ntech47

I have a 10 gallon saltwater tank. It's been running for a month now. Is the tank cycled? I can't tell. These are the results

04/17/17
pH: 8.0
NH3: 0.50
NO2: 0.25
NO3: 20 ppm

4/20/17
NH3: 0 ppm
NO2: 0 ppm
NO3: 10 ppm

4/23/17
NH3: 0.25
NO3: 0.20

4/24/17
NH3: 0
NO3: 0.10

4/28/17
NH3: 0.50
NO2: 0
NO3: 0.10

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ntech47

4/28/17: NH3 should read 0, are you doing phantom feedings or is it an anomalous result?
I have a clownfish in there so I feed him. My LFS recommended I put a fish in there to cycle it. I'm new to the hobby and the guy said that's how you cycle it.

pkajp

You should not be getting a NH3 or NO2 reading when it is cycled. They should both be 0 every time you test

Ntech47

You should not be getting a NH3 or NO2 reading when it is cycled. They should both be 0 every time you test

So what do I do? I'm using the API saltwater test kit.

pkajp

You just have to wait. You can speed up the process by adding some live bacteria like Fritz or Dr. Tims. Using a clown or damsel to cycle a 10g will take between 6-8 weeks usually.

Ntech47

You just have to wait. You can speed up the process by adding some live bacteria like Fritz or Dr. Tims. Using a clown or damsel to cycle a 10g will take between 6-8 weeks usually.

Thanks for you help btw.

How will I know it's done then?

xj_matt

Premium member
I have never used that one. I just set up my 140g and added 2 bottles of Dr time with live rock and I cycled in 4 weeks

goatous

Cycling with fish is the time tested and proven way to cycle a tank. Adding any of the bacterial starters is not going to hurt and may speed it up.

But it is not a race to see how quickly you can cycle a tank. Nothing good happens quickly, only bad things happen fast.

Just take your time and wait until your numbers are consistently good. I waited a month after my numbers looked good before I (SLOWLY) started adding permanent residents over the course of months.