Old tank rebuild. Thoughts?

rako1

Premium member
So my 40 breader is about 14 years old all original rock and my sump is in bad shape. My main problem is syano and another algi that I an not sure what its called so I'm not sure where to start. I'm thinking on building a new sump first and installing it before moving on with replacing main tank and rock I know small and slow steps is most important but because I've never done this before I'm worried about a couple corals making it through the process.
I'm also not sure how to go about switching out a new 40 b and new rock. I really don't want to sell off all my corals and fish and starting over but I'm not ruling it out. So if any of you guys out there that have tried this with an old tank I'd like to hear about your success and failures to figure out the best way to go about this.
Thanks

((FORDTECH))

Premium member
View attachment 9163
So my 40 breader is about 14 years old all original rock and my sump is in bad shape. My main problem is syano and another algi that I an not sure what its called so I'm not sure where to start. I'm thinking on building a new sump first and installing it before moving on with replacing main tank and rock I know small and slow steps is most important but because I've never done this before I'm worried about a couple corals making it through the process.
I'm also not sure how to go about switching out a new 40 b and new rock. I really don't want to sell off all my corals and fish and starting over but I'm not ruling it out. So if any of you guys out there that have tried this with an old tank I'd like to hear about your success and failures to figure out the best way to go about this.
Thanks