System up..not running well

FlyinBryan

Hey everyone! Haven't been on in a while because I've been busy working and getting my 150rr tank up and running.
Here's where I'm at. My tank overheats, arnd 80 - 81 during the day. I have evaporative conditions leading me to add water daily. This causes my protein skimmer to flip out, fill up with water, and just effervess until I get to it.
I must be doing something wrong, i think, to have all these things happen.
Temp I can handle with fans, and get it down to 76, I just don't want to run fans 24/7. Is this normal?
Fine tuning the protein skimmer I'm having a hard time with.
My blue tang does nothing but hide, and my chocolate tang, just does the same route in the tank over and over and over.
Oh, and I go out of town for work often and was hoping to have my girlfriend handle these things when she comes over, but, I was hoping that all she'd have to do is feed.
Sorry for the vent. Newbie here just a bit frustrated.

MMreef

Hi,80-81 is a little high but not to worry about it.Do you use sump with baffles? If you do, water level in your skimmer should not fluctuate.Yes evaporation is a normal thing,you need to replace water daily.Easiest way is to install ATO.(automatic top off)

ColaAddict

80-81 is fine temp wise, don't worry about that. temp in the sea get warmer than that. Just avoid large temp swings, so you might want to adjust tank temp to a low of 78 so you don't have such huge temp swings.
Evaporation is normal, You might want to invest in an auto top off system to keep water level in sump stable, that will also keep your skimmer happy. make sure you top off with fresh water, not saltwater. I replace about 1 gal of water daily.
how long have you had your fishes? they often hide until they get comfortable in your tank. also, tangs swim alot, which explains your tangs swimming pattern.

jcarlilesiu

Let me see if I cam address a few of the issues you are having one at a time.