Weird Request... Aiptasia Actually Needed!!!

IbanezIC300

Hi Guys, I know this is a weird request and I was unsure of where to post it. I am a teacher and have a student currently wanting to do research on how microbeads affect anemones. Seeing as we do not want to harm expensive decorative anemones we are looking for some Aiptasia. She would like to see if the microbeads are actually taken in by the anemones and incorporated into their tissues, like similar research has found that corals do. If anyone has any pest Aiptasia and is willing to let go of a small piece of rock with some it would be greatly appreciated, we would be willing to pay live rock prices. I can pick up pretty much anywhere in the in Chicagoland area. Thanks for your help and moderators if you feel this belongs somewhere else please feel free to move.

enzo1028

Premium member
Hi Guys, I know this is a weird request and I was unsure of where to post it. I am a teacher and have a student currently wanting to do research on how microbeads affect anemones. Seeing as we do not want to harm expensive decorative anemones we are looking for some Aiptasia. She would like to see if the microbeads are actually taken in by the anemones and incorporated into their tissues, like similar research has found that corals do. If anyone has any pest Aiptasia and is willing to let go of a small piece of rock with some it would be greatly appreciated, we would be willing to pay live rock prices. I can pick up pretty much anywhere in the in Chicagoland area. Thanks for your help and moderators if you feel this belongs somewhere else please feel free to move.
It might not be a bad idea to reach out to some of the local fish stores. They get so much rock in all the time I bet they encounter aiptasia regularly.

jrpark22000

Premium member
I agree. There's one in Bollingbrook that sticks out in my mind, it has always had some to spare when ever I've been there. Shoot me a message and I can share he name.

Smitty