What brands are you using

FlyinBryan

Hey all. Newbie here. I have a rr150, 4'x2'x2.5', I just got the aqueous model 4 sump now it's time to skim and pump it.

What brands should I use?

For the Skimmer I was looking at Aquac, octopus, swc, but cannot decide. The 'professionals' Ive talked to can't seem to come down on a single one.

Also, I'm jumping right in to a coral/fish tank. How many gph do I really need? I was thinking close to 1500 - 2000 gph, but again, can't seem to find a concensus opinion. I've seen eheim and one other one but the opinions on this vary greatly.

But I consider this to be a great place for resource and I value all input.

Thanks for your help!!

jcarlilesiu

For the Skimmer I was looking at Aquac, octopus, swc, but cannot decide. The 'professionals' Ive talked to can't seem to come down on a single one.
Im not a skimmer pro so I won't comment. I use an Eshopps PSK-150 and have been happy with it on my 150.

How many gph do I really need? I was thinking close to 1500 - 2000 gph, but again, can't seem to find a concensus opinion.
Try for 8 - 10 times turn over per hour. For a 150 gallon, shoot for a pump that is rated at 1,200 to 1,500.

Keep in mind that an head height (vertical movement of water from the pump) is going to reduce that number drastically the higher the head. The diameter of the pipe and whole hose of other factors can affect this head loss. There may be some calculators out there to calculate the friction and loss which you can use to calculate the bigger size pump you may need.

Hope this helps.

mlreef

Im not a skimmer pro so I won't comment. I use an Eshopps PSK-150 and have been happy with it on my 150.

Try for 8 - 10 times turn over per hour. For a 150 gallon, shoot for a pump that is rated at 1,200 to 1,500.