Biopellet ?

Steve1986

So I've been reading up a lot on biopellet reactors to lower my nitrates. It's seems there's a lot of mixed reviews but it seems that the people it didn't work for , weren't following the right steps. My question is it worth the extra money to get a recirculating reactor or will regular biopellet reactor work as well , following the "guidelines" to setup a reactor? Biopellet experts please chime in, thanks

maidia

Team CR
CPR tumbler is way to go Steve. It's easy to add the pellet and cleanning. It comes with small pump but you have to change to MJ900 for better tumbling. I running one right now and nitrate always from 0 to 0.10.

Sawdonkey

Premium member
I'm no expert, but I'm running biopellets. This is more of an experiment for me, but it seems to be working. I've got some big dirty fish and had a hard time getting my nitrates below 10. I've been running these for about two months now, and my nitrates are undetectable.

I had some cyano issues at first, but I had these with other carbon sources I tried too (vodka and vinegar). I ran some chemiclean about a week after starting the pellets, and cyano is gone. I added about a quarter of the recommended dose for a few weeks, then doubled it to about half of the dose, which I'm still running today.

I just modified a TFL 150 reactor to handle pellets. They roll nicely, but I'm not sure I could add many more pellets and get a good tumble. It works for now though. This reactor goes directly into another TFL 150 with carbon. Then the hose goes directly into my skimmer intake. I know one thing for sure......my skimmer stinks twice as bad as it did before running the pellets!

Steve1986

CPR tumbler is way to go Steve. It's easy to add the pellet and cleanning. It comes with small pump but you have to change to MJ900 for better tumbling. I running one right now and nitrate always from 0 to 0.10.