Cyanobacteria fix?

rowdie

Hi guys, I'm new to sw and have had my tank up for ~4 weeks. I have a 29g biocube with 20lbs of live sand and 20lbs of live rock and added a CuC a couple weeks ago. I've replaced the stock filter pad and bio balls with the intank media filter with filter floss in top chamber, purigen in middle chamber, and chemi-pure elite in bottom chamber. I think I'm reaching the end of my cycle, ammonia and nitrites are 0 and nitrates are <20 ppm. Over the last week some pink/red cyanobacteria has started to grow on my sand. I've read that cynobacteria is somewhat common at the end of cycling and is caused by excess nutrients and phosphates. I just ordered the tunze 9002 nano protein skimmer and plan to keep the lights off for the next 3 days (normally they are on a timer from noon until 8pm). Will the skimmer help to eliminate the cyano and would other people recommend turning the lights off for a few days to keep the cyano from becoming worse while the skimmer is being shipped to me? Any other suggestions on fighting cyano are appreciated. Oh and hi everyone.

Lil BamBam

Premium member
Welcome!!! Great 1st post...

Hate cyano :sly: Someone should chime in soon regarding this issue..

I always added more flow and did more water changes..

Smitty

Premium member
Welcome to the site, glad to have you aboard. It is caused by high levels of phosphates and nitrates, which new tanks do go thru, and adding more flow will help. What type of water did/do you use in your tank, because tap water will cause it also, as well as overfeeding. Best suggestion is multiple water changes with ro/di water, light feedings, bulbs that aren't too old, and siphon as much as you can out when you do your water changes. It'll eventually go away. Good luck.

SkunkerX