Deep Blue EDGE 57 Rimless Mixed Reef Build

beetlenut33

Premium member
Hello, Chicago Reefs! I am starting a new build thread to document the progress on my new build. This is my first build, ever, I have owned all in one nano tanks since 2007.

I started building my stand with the help of fellow members of the CR community.

I decided to build the stand out of 3/4" birch plywood. All strips are 5.75" wide.

View attachment 18182

The overall dimensions of the stand are 37.5" wide by 19.5" deep by 36" tall.

View attachment 18183

Tonight, I plan on sanding and staining my stand. Pictures to follow.

beetlenut33

Premium member
I had a few hiccups in the stand build this week. Had some leveling issues with the pieces where the tank is supported. I cleared them up by removing all the small support pieces, planing the top of the stand to remove any major height differences in the wood, and then installing a single large piece of plywood to support the weight of the tank.

I was able to stain and paint the stand with my dad's help. I plan on drilling holes in the top plywood to allow access to the plumbing.

Here is a photo of where the tank will be located in my condo along with some other equipment.

View attachment 18227

beetlenut33

Premium member
I was able to build my sump today. I purchased a 20 gallon long from PetsMart for $15. I had some double strength glass cut at ACE Hardware for a about $20. After buying silicone, spent around $40 total for this build. This is my first time building a sump, so it isn't perfect. I will try cleaning the excess silicone with a razor blade after it cures.

I spaced the over and under baffles a little too close together. I can't fit my hand between them.

Here's a photo of the competed sump:

View attachment 18349

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

beetlenut33

Premium member
Here are some updated pics of the tank! Sorry for the bad quality, I am working on improving my photography skills.

Last edited:

beetlenut33