Disheartened

Lost over a $1000 of high end SPS coral in under a week. I have been keeping reefs for 15 years and SPS for about 5 years and delved into high end SPS this last year. My coral have always shown excellent health and polyp extension along with out of this world color. I was so proud of my tank and the compliments I received from visitors was icing on the cake. Since I have upgraded tanks to a 50 gallon, my SPS have taken a hard hit. I matched water parameters exactly and swapped over only to wake up to a apex message that my tank dropped to 72 degrees because I forgot to hook up my auto topoff and the heater shut down.
All the hard work to get my SPS to this point only to watch them rtn and wither away from a bad night. I'm not kidding, I want to cry like a little girl.....The amount of money I have spent to get to this point is astounding. I told my wife, a tank should add enjoyment not stress.

I've been there it sucks, it actually drove me out of the hobby for 8 years. Now I look back and realize how much I learned from it, it just didn't seem like a learning experience at the time.

ninjamyst

Premium member
that sucks. i had several partial tank crash before and it is not fun. hope you don't leave the hobby because of this setback. why would heater shut off due to lack of ATO?

tinman

This i the exact reason i like to keep things as simple as possible ( and some what manual) than totally automating and let the machine decide what to do.

but yes thats the name of the game buddy .. it all grows so well till a point and then boom crash happens... dont let it keep you down buddy .. knowledge we gain is more important in this hobby .. re do stuff you dont like and start it back up .. thats all we can do :)

good luck and sad to hear what happened .

BigKev23