Favia placement

PufferMan

Hello,

I'm just getting started with corals in my tank. I got a few corals frags that I'm told are pretty easy to care for, however I'm a little unsure about the placement of them. The two I'm questioning are favia frags.

I was told that they will eventually spread, and to place them on another piece of live rock. Is this the best way to place them?

Any other recommendations regarding favia?

thanks!

jcarlilesiu

If they are currently not mounted you can super glue or epoxy their skeleton to a larger piece of rubble. Give them moderate light with soft turbulent flow. Be prepared for very slow growth even in ideal conditions.

Sent from my HTC Thunderbolt using Tapatalk

lunacris

I have one that was placed mid way up in tank unerring 400 watt halides and gentle flow. Looks alot happier then any other position I had it. Verrry sloow groowing. Just noticed mine is getting multiple mouths in one head. Should be multiple heads soon. Good luck

PufferMan

I'm running 4 HO flourescent. 2 of them are 10000k and 2 are actinic 460. Then I also have a single regular fluorescent that is actinic 420.

And yes, I have the corals with my puffer. I never thought it would work and that he would certainly eat them, but I read that some people have had luck with it depending on their puffer. So I figured I would give it a try. Started with some zoas, expecting them to be gone in the morning, but he never touched them. He has yet to show any interest in any corals thus far and it's been over a month with them in with him.

jcarlilesiu

I'm running 4 HO flourescent. 2 of them are 10000k and 2 are actinic 460. Then I also have a single regular fluorescent that is actinic 420.
That isn't a huge amount of light. Put the favia in the top 3rd of the tank to be sure it gets enough light.