Flying Turkey's New Reef

Hi all!

This is my first attempt at a salt water aquarium. I've been doing research for months and months, and I finally decided the time was right. So I bought a 50 gallon rimless cube from SC Aquariums. For $589 shipped, it came with a stand, 20 gallon sump, return pump, protein skimmer and all the plumbing. It shipped quickly through a freight company. It was at my door in 4 days coming from Southern California. It came in two boxes on a pallet, and the freight truck driver was nice enough to place the pallet in my garage. Here are a few pics...

It was very well packed and not a scratch on a anything:

The stand came unassembled and is made of MDF, but the panels are very thick and sturdy:

I put it all together put tap water in it and tested everything out for 4 days, then I drained out the water. And it sat empty for a few weeks while I bought everything I needed. I bought a Jebao WP25, a JBJ ATO, a Purely H2O RO/DI filter, a couple of Brute 20 gallon trash cans for mixing salt water and for RO/DI storage, a couple of heaters and additional pumps for my ATO, and for mixing salt water. Then I got a Reef Radiance Lumentek Pro 120 LED light. I got a Milwaukee digital refractometer, a couple test kits, Red Sea salt, 50 lbs dry rock from Reef Cleaners, 80 lbs dry sand from Marco Rocks, and an additional 40 lbs Fiji pink live sand for my 4" DSB. I also bought 10 lbs of live rock from Gulf Live Rock, which is arriving today. I'll use that to seed the dry rock and start the cycle.

Here are a few pics of the tank with salt water in it and the aquascape complete:

More updates and pics when I get the live rock in the tank.

Sawdonkey

Premium member
Congrats! It's nice to see someone new to the hobby jump right in and buy everything they need right off the start. It looks like you've done a lot of research before even buying anything. Nice work.

However, I can't see your photos for some reason.

SkullV