Golden Dwarf Moray Eel compatability and experiences

Activeangel

Greetings everyone, Sharkey here!

I'm new to this site, and thought we should open up a post designated to warn of possible casualties when choosing to add, one of my favorites, the Hawaiian Golden Dwarf Moray Eel or other similar dwarf morays. Specifically, I'd love to hear about some experience from those who have at least 6 months experience with the same eel; an eel which had time to establish itself in a tank and live in harmony with its neighbors.

These are desirable for their small size and unlikeliness to mess with many reef fish, and acknowledging that every creature has a unique personality; What are some tankmates that either attacked or were attacked by your Golden Dwarf Morays? What tankmates, in these cases, were not bothered by the eel (and what was these eels' diet)?

While I have no experience with this species, I have heard they have eaten shrimp, crabs, fish such as Pearly Jawfish, as well as devouring up to 5" clams leaving only the empty shell overnight

~Sharkey

Volcano1

I had one for around a year. It happened to make its way into my sump 100 gallon sump, which is full of love rock. It was there for another month , tore sump down never found it.
It didn't bother any of my tank mates, but I had no shrimp. Nothing seemed to. Other it, thought it had a designated burrow it didn't stray far from. It feed it Rods predator mix. Figured it would get a variety that way. It seemed to like everything in the mix as long as pieces were t too large. I had to use a feeding prong for it to eat well. It's tank mates would get the food other wise. They also seem to not have the best vision and rely on smell more.
I had a decent mix of fish with mine tangs, rabbit fish, clowns, wrasses, no one seemed to bother it and I never noticed any fish missing. I don't remember if I had clams in with it at the time or not. It's been a couple years.