Intro and Tank set up

Tkroll0321

Premium member
Hi guys finally have started finding some time to really read on here and hopefully start posting some questions. Wanted to start off introducing myself. My name is Tyler I'm from Waukegan and this is my first attempt with a reef tank. I've done FO a few years back and a good amount of fresh water as well.

Kind of an odd occurrence on how this all started, a coworker of mine had kept reef tanks for years. Recently he started a business of his own and the tanks fell by the wayside so he offered one up to me if I was willing to try and revive it. IE not start from scratch. It's been a rough course so far and am still in a pretty epic hair algae battle.

Tkroll0321

Premium member
View attachment 17055

Here is a pic from several months ago I will get a more current one up this week. I've changed the layout several times as I've gone through scrubbing algae. I have finally started to feel like I'm gaining ground with weekly water changes and a whole new set-up equipment wise.

tkh

Welcome, looks like you're off to a good start! "Dealing" with problems is part of the hobby, lol, so may as well start from the beginning! (There are good parts too!)

frostyjay1

What size is the tank and what equipment do you use, also what are you upgrading to?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

Tank2379

What type of lighting and skimmer are you running? Those are too key components when starting a reef?

DB9181

:welcome:

As several other people mentioned, a full rundown of your tank size, specs, equipment, etc would be great - we may be able to offer up some other suggestions to assist getting your tank back on the right track.

DD

"Rambo"
Welcome to the group! As others have stated, we would love to see your equipment list as we can offer some assistance. Glad you found the site :)

Tkroll0321

Premium member