I've Got The Itch - New To Reefing

Folks,

I’m new to the reef forum but have been doing a lot of reading and researching. I’ve successfully kept freshwater and saltwater fish only tanks in the past but bowed out of the hobby once I left for college over 15 years ago. I’m looking to dive into a smaller reef setup with mostly inverts and maybe some tiny fish.

I’ve already purchased my sump/fuge and it’s a 15 gallon acrylic unit that measures 24” w x 9” d x 15” h with 3 compartments. I’ve yet to order my tank and stand due to the exacting specs I need the setup to fit into my living room. I’ve been researching my behind off to make sure that the tank fits my needs and doesn’t overtake the aesthetics of my pretty modern flat in the city. I want the tank to enhance and blend with my current décor and not overtake or compete with anything in my living space. The tank’s back will be really close to a corner wall and the front of the tank will be flush with the arm of my left facing chaise of my sectional.. To access the sump and cabinet, I will have to move the sectional pieces, but I am fine with this.

I’ve decided on a custom acrylic tank and stand that measures 32” w x 12” d x 16” h. The stand would be around 30” h. This would allow the sump to fit inside the stand. I’m planning to have the tank predrilled with a horizontal overflow with no teeth. I’d prefer the water to sheet into the overflow as to provide some initial skimming of the display tank. before sending the water to the sump. From what I have gathered, a 1” bulkhead fitting will yield a waterflow of 300 gph being sent to the sump.