Lighting Noob

ejwan

I am just getting into setting up my first tank ever. I have been studying like crazy and I am getting a grip (slight) on setting up and cycling, pumps, skimers etc. But Lighting. I don't have a clue. Maybe I am trying to make it to hard. And that is my problem, I don't see any HARD numbers for anything! "well lets see, if I order some led lights with lots of blue and some whites, maybe I throw in a red or green, Should I get an emerald blue vs a royal blue"

1. How is light intensity measured at the coral itself. What are the light requirements of specific corals (say in lux or lumens) and wavelengths and duration.

2. Does tank depth affect absorption at different wavelengths (colors)?

3. How goes light height above the water affect intensity? is it linear, exponential. (to lazy to look in physics book). So if I raise my lights from 12" above the water to 18" do I need 50% more light to keep the same intensity at 18" deep.

So should I just order something that looks pretty without regard for my tanks requirements (whatever they are), or just hope the manufacturer of my lights has a clue.

Can anyone point me in the right direction, or should I just sit down and be quiet?

Thanks

MMreef

Those are all valid questions but I think you are way over thinking this. Firs tell us what are you plan on keeping, SPS , LPS , softies? Each has a different needs when it comes to light.

scotty

I am just getting into setting up my first tank ever. I have been studying like crazy and I am getting a grip (slight) on setting up and cycling, pumps, skimers etc. But Lighting. I don't have a clue. Maybe I am trying to make it to hard. And that is my problem, I don't see any HARD numbers for anything! "well lets see, if I order some led lights with lots of blue and some whites, maybe I throw in a red or green, Should I get an emerald blue vs a royal blue"