Maxima Clam

Arthur

Hi. I'm looking for any pointers and advices. I have been reefing for more then 15 years but really don't have a lot of experience with Clams. I remember I had a Derasa Clam for a long time but this was few years back. I bought today Maxima Clam from Dave. I'm reading a lot now, want to keep her happy. Many suggesting that instead sitting on sand Maxima likes being on rocks in higher parts of Aquarium. If any of you guys have a experience with Clams, please share. Looking for any pointers. Thank's in advance. I also attached photo.View attachment 19477

cment

what type of lights are you running? How big is it? For the most part try to keep it from getting knocked over. Try and set small rocks around it to keep it upright and place a small base rock underneath it so it can attach its foot. Once that happens you can move it where ever you'd like. I personally start them off not on the sand but a bit higher to mid level in the tank. If your tank as been established for a while now and your parameters are steady along with strong lighting you should be ok.

Arthur

I sold my 10 years old 150 gal. Reef and now I have only 40 gal. Breeder with 20 L sump.I run 2 - 26 AI Hydra HD.

- - - Updated - - -

It is small. Probably around 3"

gonebad395

As said above small rocks to hold up and a base rock to attach a foot lights should be ok do it.

I would get it to attach to a rock before it goes through the sand and attaches to your tank glass

#theMatrix

Also. Keep your cuc away from it.

Mostly while new...my crabs flipped it over and ate the foot over night ..woke up to 3 crabs eating the clam from the foot. Clam being non responsive and shrunken in with the outer shell open it was a gone. Gave the rest to the anemones and the wrasses. It was a 6in gold maxima.

madjoe

Premium member
Also. Keep your cuc away from it.