Monti Cap Color issue, Newbie help

Bboyeze57

Hey guys, I am a newbie in this hobby.

I bought a red and green monti cap roughly 3 weeks ago. I noticed that the color seems dull and whitish color and not as vibrant as it was in the store i bought it from. What is happening? Please help me
Current parameters: Ammonia 0, Nitrate O, Nitrite 0, Ca 420, Phosphate 0.25, pH 8.0, Salinity ~1.025, kH 9. Temp-78-80 fluctuates at times

I have a 29 Biocube gal, i just changed my lighting (still stock Actinic and 10,000k white).

Thanks in advance guys!

Bboyeze57

thanks for your reply, I do a 25% water change weekly and i top off with RO/DI water as needed. I don't know my magnesium level, i bought both saltwater and master reef kit. I have to buy the magnesium test kit and test my level for it probably tomorrow. Is there anything else i should be testing for?

Bommie

Right of the bat, I say your light is making a huge difference in the color is giving off. What type of light was it under at the store? I would try to mimic that to get that color back. Another thing to look into is your phosphate. Personally I believe phosphate plays a role in the corals color.

Sent from my 6045O using Tapatalk

Bboyeze57

Its sitting mid to high in my tank, kind of directly under the light

- - - Updated - - -

As i mentioned, my phosphate has always been about .25ppm. Should it be higher? Also i read somewhere on the web that i could supplement with pottasium to bring the color back, is this true?

Bommie

Phosphate is too high. You will start seeing better coloration around .05 ppm. Lower your phosphates XTRA SLOW over a period of 7-14days. If you bring it down to fast ..well....lol...you'll see.

Sent from my 6045O using Tapatalk

mannysmusic

Be careful. If you lower phosphate to 0 You will also have issues. You always want to have some nutrients in your tank.

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

bryman