mr_z's 29 gallon FOWLR

mr_z

so this is my 29g FOWLR tank. paid $40 for stand, tank, marineland hob filter, marineland heater and t8 light fixture which will be getting replaced in the future. all on craigslist from the same person. its my first tank im new to the hobby. born on january 1st 2011.

mr_z

sorry for the different quality pics i took some with my dslr and others with my iphone

Smitty

Premium member
Looking good bro...
Fyi, you may want to get rid of that hob filter in the future, they seem to cause nitrate problems.

mr_z

yeah i know i do want to but money is so tight right now and i have twins on the way so its kinda hard i plan on a home made sump with a 10gl tank add an overflow box and about 15 pounds of sand and anything i can add some kind of algae. im still learning so ill see what i have to add to it eventually. and thats why im here to ask questions also. :)

Smitty

Premium member
No worries about rushing to do things all at once, this hobby takes patience. The only things that happen fast are disasters.
Also, congrats on the future twins :)

mr_z

yeah i have a cousin that wasnt patient and started a 55 gallon tank the same day i did and every sunday he added a fish he had first a white n black butterfly then he had a yellow tang and a lionfish three days after he added the lion they started dying he wouldnt listen about adding a cuc or the way he fed them. so i know patience is key here. thanks tho.

mr_z

yeah i doubt it. he put in like 4 turbo snails hoping it would help clean it up they all died when i checked his salt it was at 1.018

tenvibes

haha i noticed the difference in quality of pictures. looks like you're off to a good start. keep us posted!

congrats on the twins. when are you expecting them?

mr_z

lol yeah one with a nikkon d40 and the others with a iphone. my wife is due sometime last week of april first week of may. since its twins theyll come earlier. i hope they dont tip the tank over lol.

scotty