Need some plumbing advice

AForys

OK, I just got my hands on a glasscages 40g cube. These tanks come with the 2 holes on the bottom, I believe one is 1 1/2" and one is 1". Just trying to plan out my plumbing before I actually get parts etc. and waste $ as I'm new to overflows, my main question is there any types of silencers like the beans for these types of overflows? I will be using a trigger ruby 20 cube as a sump. Since the hole is mid tank I will need to use a 90 or 45 to get drain to the sump, should I use a 90 or a 45? Ball valves on return and drain? I'm using a jebao dct 4000, I think the valve on the return will be useless since these pumps are controllable? Should I hard pipe the return? Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

jayjerk

Premium member
It's all preference. But I would hard pipe. If not use flex pipe. F using hoses. You will need a stand pipe. For overflow you can make pretty quiet but silent prob not. Ditch ball and use gate valves. Unless u buying high end ball valves. And this whole hobby is about wasting money. Get use to it

AForys

oh a agree with wasting $ but trying to prevent as much as possible is key! I understand stand pipe, was more or less talking about durso and reverse durso or something similar to prevent as much noise as possible. I was going to hard pipe drain for sure, should I hard pipe return as well? is spa flex better or just another option? I would be able to use spa flex as I have a bottom drilled tank, better to cut the 90's and 45s and use the flex? only over flow I've used was a hob just trying to track down best methods, I know many of the CR are very experienced. just trying to soak in any knowledge willing to be shared and of course more researching on top of it.

jayjerk

Premium member
Spa flex will help eliminate some of the elbows thus increasing flow. Plumb everything and use as many unions as you can. I don't personally because I'm dumb and I don't glue anything but yea.

AForys