New to the hobby

wbbdm3

Hi All,

Ive had freshwater tanks in the past but my cousin's tank lead me to begin my own. Currently cycling a 29g Biocube with live rock. Open to any suggestions or warnings as I am new to the saltwater world. My goal is to keep it simple with some clownfish and a goby / shrimp pair plus beginner corals until I learn more as my tank grows.

Looking forward to meeting and interacting with people on the site!

Fish_wiz2

Welcome! I had a 29BC back in the day myself, great tank size not so great filter. Best investment for it was the inTank media baskets and an ATO, I bought the tank used with DIY LEDs so that was a plus.

Take it slow and make water changes a habit and you'll be golden.

98silverado

I'll agree with fish wiz and his recommendations. Maybe a small powerhead to get a Little more flow.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

trackfast

Princess Trainer
Hello and welcome to CR. Good suggestions from silverado and fish wiz. Take things slow; research livestock before you buy; ask questions, we were all in your shoes at one point.

wbbdm3

Thanks everyone! I’m really excited to get going on this. I had plans to add a sump or convert the refugium into a mini sump. Have 1 Ai prime light and cycling with live sand + 10 lbs of Bali live rock from old town aq. In the market for dead rock as well.

maidia

Team CR
Thanks everyone! I’m really excited to get going on this. I had plans to add a sump or convert the refugium into a mini sump. Have 1 Ai prime light and cycling with live sand + 10 lbs of Bali live rock from old town aq. In the market for dead rock as well.
Welcome to CR... A lot of learning but you will be good one day. For dead rock, clean/soak in vinegar (some people use bleach) really well before put in the tank

Fish_wiz2