Novice in Streeterville

Suolainen

Hello All,

I am new to CR and new to saltwater in general. Have had freshwater and freshwater plants before, but haven't had a tank in years. I am just in the research phase trying to pick a tank. My plan is to start with something in the 20-40 gallon range and hopefully an all-in-one. I'm currently debating between a biocube 29g and an IM 20g, but am open to other ideas as well. Any input would be greatly appreciated! Here is my current plan:

1) Buy a tank!!!!
2) Add water then LR and sand
3) Let it cycle while testing parameters regularly.
4) After a couple of months introduce a couple of fish (likely clownfish)
5) Add a CUC (not sure when I will do this, or need to do this)
6) Add a protein skimmer
7) After another month or two start adding coral
8) As long as I can keep things alive I want to keep adding coral and really focus on coral with only 2-3 fish.
9) Add a reactor possibly.
10) Possible add a sump with refugium or a refugium in the back of the tank.

Any input, suggestions or anyone wanting to sell equipment to get me started???

I live in Streeterville (very close to Navy Pier), are there any other reefers near me?

jrpark22000

Premium member
Welcome aboard CR Pete, glad you're doing lots of research before jumping in too deep. It's always better to go bigger with saltwater to allow for more stable parameters. You'll also likely see many people sell their first 28 and less gallon tanks after the first 6-12 months as they've already filled them. The 28G size is a great place to start but you'll find you are quite limited on your fish selection, something like a 40B open the doors to a lot more. Otherwise your list is spot on.

This is the time of year when many people decide to break down. Keep your eye on the FS area for deals.

trackfast

Princess Trainer
Hello and welcome !