Pods

jcarlilesiu

I will admit that I am no pod expert, nor do I have an fish like a mandarin that requires a healthy pod population. I am not running a refugium, but will probably be installing one shortly.

When ever I use my mag float to clean the glass at the front of the tank, I kick up about 20 amphipods. So I know I have a healthy population of those. No matter what though, I never see anything smaller. Never on the glass or rocks have I noticed copepods. Is it possible I just don't have any? Can I buy the small bugs and add them?

Lil BamBam

Premium member
I love PODS… It will come in when you buy a frag, rock or cheato from an established tank and they will multiple like crazy. Just be careful when getting things from fellow members.. Their problem will become your problem!!!!

Just keep in mind that some POD’s can’t handle warm temps. So PODs that come in a bottle can be worth the money or not. It’s a hit or $$ loss when it comes to certain PODS in a bottle.

Do a refugium and you will be amazed on many you will see in a 1 month period

Time is the key!!!

jcarlilesiu

Great thanks everybody. The tank has been up for over a year and a half and is well established, and I have been just waiting to see if the copepods bloom, but have never seen it.

My fish now move to the bottom of the tank and watch me clean the glass with the mag float as they know I will kick-up a bunch of amphipods. Kind of funny to watch.

I will add the refugium and then look into adding some copepods.

ColaAddict