RAPID LED Retrofit Kit - Layout Questions

MAERAK

I am going to order the retrofit kit for the 28G CF Quad Nano - Dimmable version, which is a 20 LED layout. I am still new at the hobby and am brand new to LEDs. What layout would you recommend? The default layout is 10 cool white and 10 royal blue. A suggestion I got was:
8 Royal Blue
6 Cool White
4 Blue
2 Neutral White
2 UV

Thoughts and suggestions appreciated.

Thanks

jayjigga

Unless you like a whiter look, I would swap 2 CW with 2 RB. Even if they're dimmable, you want to be able to tone down the colors. 8 white LED's will be a lot for the blues to counter. To keep the colors separate, it would be the smaller driver for the white string, but I'm sure they'll help you out too. They have great customer service.

GBeck87

I would not go with cool white. Go with neutral. Go atleast 2:1 blue to white and fill the rest with some TV CB and a red and CY. Get Full spectrum if you can.

Sent from my LG-VM696 using Tapatalk 2

jayjigga

I would not go with cool white. Go with neutral. Go atleast 2:1 blue to white and fill the rest with some TV CB and a red and CY. Get Full spectrum if you can.

I'll definitely have to disagree with not having any cool white. I have all 3 whites on my setup, but I also have 4 times more LEDs and at least twice the area to cover. On a tank that small, you won't be able to blend the red enough. In order to do it right (according to Jimmy IIRC), you want to cluster a deep red, cyan, and blue as tight as possible to simulate a warm white. With such little space to work with, I would suggest something like:

10 Royal Blue
3 Cool White
4 Blue
2 Neutral White
1 Warm White
2 UV

I don't know if the UV will affect enough with all the other colors going on, but what I did on my 12 was put them on the moonlight kit and run them with actinics.

Again, this is personal opinion, and not the only way to skin this cat :)

GBeck87