The beginning of a new reef tank

sammy61989

Hey so I'm new to this so I need as much help as I can get. I know it ain't going to be perfect I'm going to get frustrated at times but I'm here so I can get advice from people that have passed through it before that way I can learn and help others later on.

Well I have an innovation marine nuvo 8gallon tank freshly put water July 15 2015 so it's cycling right now got some live rock on it got an upgraded return pump so it throws a lot stronger flow. So whatever u guys have advice for me I would apreciated like how long should I wait to put in corals fish shrimp anything or how many fishes i can put or what type I should start with thanks guys and gals

Sent from my LG-D800 using Tapatalk

fredfish13

welcome. be sure to read up on how to cycle your tank and get test kits for the ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates. safest way is when your ammonia and nitrites measure 0, then do a WC and you should be good to go. add things slowly. with that size tank, you should be able to fit 1 fish in there that won't grow too big.

I am cycling a 75 gallon now and put water in it mid-June. went on vacation so i could not feed ammonia in it. started out with dry rock but put a few pieces of LR this past week. still have measurable amounts of ammonia and nitrites. hoping by next week it will have cycled.

good luck and ask more questions if you got them.

RicoReef

Hey bro flip that pic!!! Lol me and you are so green to this we will be ther soon everyone on CR is cool always willing to help and give you free corals one's your set bro ?

Sent from my LG-H631 using Tapatalk

sammy61989

Thanks guys, fraginreeferhead I do have a glass lid on it just can't see it in the picture but thanks for that warning i don't want any fish jumping out

sammy61989