The beginning to a endless journey

Chief

To whom it may concern,

My name is CPL Dyllion Eckhardt. I am currently a 19D Cavalry Scout in the United States Army Illinois National Guard. I work as a Project Manager in North East Illinois, but live in South East Wisconsin. I have a variety of hobbies, including but not limited to: scuba diving, motorcycle riding, and anything outdoors. My significant others brother recently put together a fresh water fish tank and it sparked my interest and lifelong hobby into growing an aquarium of my own. I will be receiving a biocube 29g tank that was used as a reef tank from a friend that I work with. I plan on using it as a reef tank for a combination of fish and coral(obviously). I have done a fair amount of research and still continue to research to mitigate my cost spending as much as possible while still learning and growing. Just yesterday (6/11/2018) I placed an order for: 1 - Kessel A80 Tuna Blue with a mini gooseneck, 1 Cobalt aquatics 100 watt heater, and 1 25 test strip testing kit. I am still working on exactly what I will need for the tank to start my initial first cycle, but I have not received the tank and thus do not know what it does or does not have.

Prize fish, as I am sure everyone has one. A fish that when someone looks at your tank full of water you always want to point out. Well my current prize fish is a Mandarin Goby, Mandarin Dragonet how ever which way you would like to call this beautiful species. I plan on creating a Refugium in the back portion of the Biocube 29g where the sump is held in bay 2 to create a biosystem of copepods to hopefully feed 2 Mandarins. I do not know how well it will work as I am new and well new.

What I hope to gain from ChicagoReefs.com is a network of friends, knowledge, and hopefully a beautiful tank in about 10 years or how ever long it becomes perfect for me. I come with an open mind and open arms(free knowledge....(and equipment) i mean....

Best,
CPL Dyllion Eckhardt