What are some of the more exotic coral frags and where do you get them

KiLaGo

I am relatively new at having a reef tank and I was wondering 1) what are some of the "must have" coral for a reef tank and 2) the best way to go about getting them.

I have spent a lot of time searching through forums and the internet and really haven't come up with a good way to acquire these at reasonable prices. For example, baycorals has some really cool chalices and zoas, such as the red/blue/purple hornets, rastas, halo's, candy apples and chalices like the flame thrower, planet earth, the king, but they seem to never have them in stock and you are waiting list, but their prices seem fairly reasonable. I have checked on EBAY and a number of coral websites, but a lot of times they will give their coral the same name but you can see differences in the pictures such as different skirts so you're not sure exactly what it is you are getting.

I have never been to a frag event or frag swap in Chicago. Are these good events to attend and how often are they held? Are these worthwhile going to?

Cubbies

It depends on what kind of coral you are going to be looking into. SPS, LPS, Softies etc. I would say SPS you can kinda of get or buy around with local reefers you would be surprised at what some of this guys/gals have. As for Lps I would say go for what you like. Imo I would say most definetely check out the swaps. There's alot of mixed emmotions about the swaps but I love them. You will definetely find good deals. There's one coming up in September. Sign up and become a CMAS member and you'll get very informative meetings and get into events such as the swap for FREE! Oh and Welcome btw!

ColaAddict

Youre in Great Lakes, you are close to alot of reefers favorite coral store Midwest Coral Farms. They have tons of frags and colonies. I highly recomend that store. Or check out other reefers on this site, a bunch of people are selling their frags.

FishBeard