Would you worry about these?

Sawdonkey

Premium member
I just noticed a bunch of flat worms on my glass in my sump. I've never seen them before, but now there are a bunch. They aren't red planaria, because they don't have three points.

Has anyone else had this variety of flat worm? Should I treat? Should I ignore? Should I get a wrasse?

View attachment 2349

maidia

Team CR
Oh man...Flatworm Exist may work but I have no experience..Some wrasse like Radiant, Coris or Six Lines may kill them but hit and miss...

Kill them before they get on your SPS.

Venom

Premium member
Better to to eliminate them now before they multiply out of control flatworm exit work for me took 2 doses though

Pufferpunk

They will cover every inch of every surface in your tank. Flatworm Exit works best.

Last edited:

cet98

FWE is not a guaranteed solution....not by a long shot.
I had planaria a couple years ago and treated with FWE using triple the dosage as mentioned on Melevsreef and they came back. The problem is the sand bed. There is no way to saturate the sandbed with FWE, nor can you get FWE in all the portions of your LR...both places are where the planaria lay their eggs and the eggs are not affected by the FWE. Even with the recommended follow-up dosages to get the new borns did not work. I also read that as you dose the tank with FWE, the planaria offspring can become less affected by FWE thereby making FWE less and less effective...

the ONLY solution that worked for me was the introduction of two specific wrasses: Yellow Coris and/or Potters Leopard Wrasse...

I have been planaria free ever since.

Sawdonkey

Premium member
So I've been doing a bunch of reading on these. They are not the red planaria that typically explode in population. They have a forked tail while the red planaria have a trident tails.