Your opinion counts... MH vs LEDs...

zportell

Along with my 100 gallon build, I'm wanting to possibly try out the LED technology. Currently my 40 gallon DT has 200 watt, 14k MH, my corals are growing at an excellent rate. They're healthy and light reaches the bottom (24-inches) of the tank. Since I am new with LED technology, I came across the "48 inch Panorama Marine" fixture on Ecoxotic. They seem very sleek, and from the video, it seems you only need one of these lights to be enough to grow corals both sps and lps and clams and well you name it...

Besides the electric savings from LEDs and the heat issues MH create, what are some of the other issues or benefits from these LEDs one should know about before making the switch?

http://www.ecoxotic.com/panorama-marine-led-system.html

yogoshio

Metal Halides are great, but LEDs are far more cost efficient. Lifetime cost of LED is less than 1/2 of Halides. You'll find a lot of us on here use LEDs and get great growth from SPS and others.

Most importantly, no bulbs, no ballasts, and 1/3 less per month on your energy bills.

I switched from power compacts to LED's and saw a $10 per month savings. Imagine what the difference of 250 halides or more would be.

The options are endless, the color spectrum is fully available, and you can get completely crazy with whatever depth, coloration and anything you want.

It is a little more upfront, but the lifetime costs are significantly less, and there are dozens who can attest at their ability to grow sps and others with great results.

yogoshio

And yes, I have ecoxotics over my tank. From my reseach, it was the best bang for your buck with expandability, color spectrum options, and ease of use. The single strips are for LPS, not SPS. If you want SPS, get their Panorama Pro 24" system, or get several 48" strips.

Their site even says that the single strips are only for LPS, not SPS.