28G Nano Cube Reef Start Up

MAERAK

Edit:

I'm new to all of this, but luckily I'm getting some help from some friends and was hoping to get your thoughts as well.

Tank is going, waiting for it to cylce (if it does). Pics and stuff in thread.

As mentioned below: thanks to Green0j0s suggestion, I will most likely upgrade to a RapidLED retrofit in July.

All opinions and suggestions are more than welcome and greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Reeferman

I'd consider doing a LED build out if you have time. The quad setup is okay but an LED retrofit in my opinion is the way to go.

MAERAK

Thanks for the response. I was planning to go LED down the line. Right now, just looking to get it going and cycled.

Green0j0s

I recently did an LED retrofit into my Nanocube and the corals seems to have taken to it right away. Frogspawn and Hammers open up way more and a couple of the Zoa's and Paly's I have have started to spread/grow.

I installed a RapidLED Dimmable kit.

GBeck87

+1 Green i did a retro for my BC 29 and my corals both sps and lps just love it man. Completely worth every penny

Green0j0s

No I customized mine.

8 Royal Blue
6 Cool White
4 Blue
2 Neutral White
2 UV
1 Red
1 Green

I think though I should have deleted the red and green and maybe have gone for 2 more UV instead. I might order those replacement LEDs later on and see how I like that but I love it as is right now too.

I haven't powered them on over 60% yet.

MAERAK

Just picked up some dry rock (about half of what I'll need) and threw it into my buddy's refugium on his 7 year old healthy tank to let it seed. Would two weeks be long enough?

MAERAK

So even though my tank is still sitting in a box waiting to move to my new place. I picked up some live stock recently and threw them in my friends tank, a duncan, some zoas, and a couple others along with 2 pretty cool clowns, a buck shot and a snowflake. I'll post pictures tonight if anyone wants to see them.

CoralN00b

Hi maereck,