diy basement sump area

WeePee

okay. so the new plan for my 75 gallon display tank will be a basement sump/fuge/frag grow out area.

but i am no expert, so i enlist your help!

heres what i have in mind:
glass tank for fuge/frag rack. (tank size?)
rubber tub for live rock.
1" drain, 3/4" return.
auto top off directly from RO filter.
10 gallon tank for water change
10 gallon tank for quarantine.

equipment will be all external (not in sump):
return pump (will need like 700gph with 10-15' of head)
external recirculating skimmer (reef octopus)
calcium reactor (future use)

hazards:
my basement has flooded in the past, so things will need to be a minimum of 1' (max flood has been about 4") off the ground. all electrical outlets are safely on the wall.

now to just brainstorm and design it out, hopefully with your help and advice. Use this thread to shoot ideas please. ill upload drawings of plans, layouts, and diagrams as i think of them.

thanks

here is something i'll be leeching ideas from:
Reef LED Lights .com Build Part 2.m2ts - YouTube
don't need this huge of a scale, but do want a similar filtration idea.

Smitty

Premium member
Sounds like a cool idea, I'll be following along also, because I plan to do this one day also. You should go with a 55 gal as the sump/fuge.

WeePee

my basement is unfinished, and this setup will be directly below where the display tank is set up. so i guess i can have as room for as large as i can afford.

so far my idea will be (generally speaking)

drain from tank directly into skimmer input.
skimmer output through filter sock then into rubbermaid bin of live rock (lit with CF bulbs)
from live rock bin into sump/fuge tank.
from tank to external pump and back into display tank.

i don't want this setup to be huge, ill get exact measurements of the space i'd ideally like to work with tomorrow. as well as a general floor plan of the open space.