READ: help

since i add phosphate reactor to my system couple of sps corals in the tank seems to have die offs on tips i read on internet that some people have the same expirience with phosphates products??? true or false for sure not a new growth

scotty

make sure that your tumbling your media correctly, if you are doing it too fast, and you are getting the iron, or whatever they are using to remove the phosphate, into the water column and that will kill stuff.

start there. also parameters could help us figure out problems too. might just be coincidence that you added it, and the die off started.

DanSreef

Premium member
I am not an SPS expert..... but I have heard that if you make any sudden and drastic changes to a tank with SPS you could see die off. It might be also helpfull to give your water parameters as they test now. There might be something else that is causing the issue but you connect the die off with the adding of the reactor.

sg-1.0255
alk-9.3 salifert
cal- 440 salifert
mag-1470 salifert
ph- 8.1 salifert
nitrate-0 api
nitrite-0
phosphate-3 times did the test its look like 0 on api
amonia-0 on api and instant ocean

but i got some red alge in my overflows (they seems to be burnd) and somew algea on favia coral , i allready took gfo from brs out just add 2 tbsp i was using 20tbsp and i add pleanty of carbon into reactor???

MMreef

I can think of two things :
first, your GFO lowered your PO4 too fast (yesterday you said your PO4 was like 0.25 if I remember correctly,today you say it is zero),SPS corals do not like any sudden changes.
second,sometimes if your ALK goes up to fast it can burn SPS tips.I don't know what your ALK was before,so I am just speculating on this.Any way I would just cut of dead tips so it does not spread .By the way I would not trust API kit with Phosphate measurement.They are better kits out there.I use Hannah Phosphate checker.Very easy and accurate.

ColaAddict