SPS/Clams with Boyds Chemi Clean

sk8elenex92

Premium member
Which one of your SPS Gurus have used Boyds Chemi Clean on their tanks. I talked with one member week or so back at his house and he said hes used it twice. He is one member that I trust with advice, but I am a paranoid SOB when it comes to dosing the tank with something. my tank is finally settled in and SPS are alive and growing. I have been battling cyano for prob 3 months now. I siphon it all out during water changes but couple days later comes back in the certain spots. My last resort is Chemi Clean. I just need to hear from other CR members and their experience.

Top Water

I have used it in the past . Some corals weren't happy but no fatalities . Stuff does work. Skimmer will go nuts when you turn it back on .

#theMatrix

Killing the lights for 4 days and now 2mp40s adding the flow and that undertow keeps the sand bed clean no cyano

Sparky312

I've used it as well with no issues. Like said above, skimmer goes crazy -- I left mine turned on but with the cup removed, since if I remember right the directions say make sure your water is oxygenated with an air stone or something. It works.

sk8elenex92

Premium member
Thanks for the responses.. Ive used it before on a ZOA tank it worked great, but now I ventured to sps and actually getting some where with it.. heh.. The skimmer part sucks so bad though, it takes forever to get back on track.

Well I guess today I will prob siphon out as much as I can and then dose little less then what is recommended. Wish me luck.. AGHH nervous as hell.

tinman

dont dose little less than whats recommended .. wont change anything with the skimmer part :)

for me when i used it ..

i did a 20% water change the day before

and dosed at full strength (may be little more) the next day

take off the skimmer cup and let it run

change 10% water the next day ( or 48 hrs i dont rememebr but as per directions)