zoanthid eating nudi branch

kratos1028

So i have some of these pests in my tank. Didn't realize they were pests until recently and now they are affecting some of my zoas. Is there a treatment I can use to treat the entire tank to get rid of them that is reef safe? Any fish that eat them? Only a couple of my colonies are affected so I will be treating them tonight but I would like to kill them all in my tank so they don't reinfect the zoas.

salt0727

I would dip with coral rx and I have also read that the melanaurus wrasse eats them but I have no first hand experience.

hansnfrans

Halichoeres chloropterus (sp?) immediately. They don't ship well so ask a local LFS to order it/them for you. Do not underestimate the zoa nudis. They can quickly mow down your zoas and it is highly likely that there are many more in there than you think.

Cubbies

Do not underestimate the zoa nudis. They can quickly mow down your zoas and it is highly likely that there are many more in there than you think.
+1000! Couldn't have said it better. Last year I had a BC swiped out within days from me noticing them. I lost ALL my Zoanthids in that tank and the tank was mainly Zs and Ps.

kratos1028

What about the other wrasses? Just wanted to add a fish that has nice bright colors. I searched the Halichoeres chloropterus species and don't really like the color on those.

jpski25

Took me almost 6 months to kill them all in my first tank. Dipping the Z's and P's only kills the Nudis. You have to manually scrape off the egg sacks or they just keep hatching. I probably caught and killed 200 with tweezers when my lights would come on everyday. The tank was to small to go the wrasse route.

jpski25

If you see 1, you have a bunch of them! They turn the same color as whatever zoa they are eating, so they blend right in.

kratos1028